Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Experience with Weatherby or specifically the SA-459 Turkey?

Started by Timmer, April 07, 2020, 02:23:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timmer

Hi all,

I recently posted a thread looking for suggestions for a lighter semi-auto with a shorter barrel and preferably a pistol grip.  I appreciated the many suggestions, but most were right in line with my current Benelli and were in the high 7lb range and/or had long barrels.  Today I discovered the  Weatherby SA-459 Turkey. It seems to fit the bill and isn't over my budget.  I don't have any experience with Weatherby guns.  Any feedback on the brand or more specifically this model?

https://weatherby.com/store/sa-459-turkey-xtra-green/

Thanks!
Timmer

All of the tools, some of the skills!

wvnut3

I have been using mine since 2016. Have left my remington's in the safe ever since. I love my 11-87 12 ga. but was looking for a light weight dedicated turkey gun. It is awesome. I don't ever see a reason going back to a 12. I did have to send the trigger group off to Rob Roberts and it is now a clean crisp 3.5lb, the perfect gun.Lee

wvnut3

Out of the box the trigger was adequate, but had some creep.It was about 5.5-6lb from the factory.Lee

Fullfan

Have been hunting with one for several years, trigger needed work. Gun is absolutely perfect, light weight, holds nice and is lethal with a SumToy Choke and Reloader's TSS hand loads.. I looking for another one....
Don't gobble at me...

g8rvet

Big fan here of the 20 gauge. So light and points so easy.  I toted it around on Sunday, very long walk through some thick Florida swamps and it was slung over my shoulder, like I had no gun.  I have killed from 15 - 37 yards with it, no problems.
Psalms 118v24: This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

TauntoHawk