turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Scouting

Started by SilentTom, March 11, 2020, 09:53:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SilentTom

Hey so I am a newb hunter and Im on my 3rd season and haven't had any luck yet. Anyways, Im wondering what time of the day should I scout? And what do I need to look for on google earth? I live in Florida so the terrain is kinda swampy, lots of pine forest, and scrub. Ive had success finding strut marks and tom tracks. Set up on them but no birds. Almost wondering if I should have stayed longer.

This season I'm using a cheap trail cam and I'm about two weeks away from opening day. Anyone got any tips on how far into the bush i need to go, or time of day, preferred way to get them to shock gobble, anything else I should do? Ive been using a crow call

I saw the tracks and strut marks on a jeep trail but the day before there were some atvs on the trail and I'm wondering if they scared them away.

:thanks:

avidnwoutdoorsman

I don't live in Florida but I'll tell you what I did to scout when I hunted there.

Find burn maps and walk the burn lines to look for sign. Owl calls work better in Florida then crow calls IMO.