turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Different Calls

Started by Big Sky Tom, February 09, 2020, 04:27:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Big Sky Tom

What's the conventional wisdom about what calls to use when? I'm just learning so I'm only working on friction calls this year then maybe try to work on mouth calls once I feel really solid with the slate and box. Seems like you can use either call to make pretty much all of the notes but that the box is better at calling loud and the slate is better at softer, more subtle calling. I'm sure you can find a box call master who can do the soft stuff just as well on a box but I'm just speaking in generalities here.

Is a box better at prospecting around trying to get on birds and slate is better at finishing?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ferocious calls

When I make a call for a hunter I tell them that I want them to love the call. If they don't love the call they won't have the confidence to use it like they would if they did. Confidence with a call is key. Practice, practice, practice. Any call mastered will work well all around.

That said, many use the boxes to locate and a mouth call to finish. I love the boxes and use them exclusively many mornings.

GobbleNut

With the calls that are available today, learning to make accurate turkey sounds is the easy part.  Friction calls are obviously the easiest to learn, and if you are just getting into turkey hunting, using a box and/or pot call are your safest bets.  Practice with whatever calls you like until you have confidence in them,...as ferocious said.