OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Anybody else experience this when learning mouth calls?  (Read 1618 times)

Offline Danger DAve

Anybody else experience this when learning mouth calls?
« on: August 04, 2019, 12:05:37 AM »
Anyone get a new call, play it for a while, think it's the best call ever!  Put it on the next day, and hate the sound, and wonder why you loved it originally?   I'm new to mouth calls kinda.  But I'm in for the haul, and sticking to it.  Just wondering, cause it's weird, and it's happened before.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Offline Upfold99

• The Boss Gobbler
Re: Anybody else experience this when learning mouth calls?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2019, 12:17:00 AM »
Is your top reed stuck to the 2nd reed? Place a reed separator in mouth call between uses. This might answer your question or may not be tbe issue at all.

Offline Southerngobbler

« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2019, 12:23:56 AM »
I have a few calls like that that are finicky, when that happens I just spit them out and pop in a better call that I'm more familiar with. Sometimes i'll rotate the weird ones back in a time or two but if it keeps happening I'll get rid of it or sometimes some mouth calls are way better at certain things like maybe purring or loud cutting or maybe just yelping. I have a few that I only use for coyote howling-one of my favorite locator calls. Eventually you'll find some calls that you can use for everything-cull the rest unless they have a specialty purpose.

Offline larry9988

• The Boss Gobbler
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2019, 04:31:00 PM »
Yep, sounds like your reeds are stuck together.

Offline Rzrbac

• Longbeard
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2019, 05:26:46 PM »