turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Trumpet Mouthpiece

Started by Rzrbac, April 06, 2019, 01:47:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rzrbac

I'm new to trumpet calls. Just got one a week ago. I'm thoroughly enjoying the challenge of learning to produce huntable turkey sounds. As I've read a good part of the trumpet threads on here, I've noticed various mouthpieces. I'm specifically curious about the material. Some are white and some are black and I'm guessing the black ones are delrin. Delrin is what my trumpet has. What available materials are there for mouthpieces and what are the advantages/disadvantages? 

I have speculated maybe it is just aesthetics but as I'm practicing I begin to think mouthpieces could change the overall sound. I know there are a lot of makers as well as hunters so I'm just curious to hear about different opinions and perspectives, thanks.

fordhunt

Hole size in the mouth piece will change your sound alot .lip placement will to . different material will vibrate different .all these will change the sound of your call .hole size being probably the most important .

gergg

I prefer Delrin, moisture doesn't mess with it, smooth to the lips, stable, consistent  .....buffalo horn seems to suck the moisture from the lips giving it a somewhat dry/rough texture for me. Ivory works good too, but it is not a long-term solution.
https://www.gwaltneygamecalls.com/

Greg Gwaltney Game Calls
2022 NWTF Grand Nationals - 5th Place Air Operated Call (Trumpet)
2021 NWTF Grand Nationals - 2nd Place Air Operated Call(Trumpet)
2021 NWTF Grand Nationals - 5th Place Air Operated Call(Trumpet Call)
2019 NWTF Grand Nationals - 3rd Place Air Operated Call(Trumpet Call)
2019 NWTF S.E. Call Makers Contest - 4th Place Trumpet Calls

davisd9

Hard to beat ivory for tone and pitch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk