turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Mississippi Mentor

Started by hailstate13cpa, March 31, 2019, 02:54:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hailstate13cpa

Living in the age of technology, you can't always believe/trust what you read on the internet or hear on podcasts. How many of you have/had a mentor that you could bounce ideas/strategies off of? Don't get me wrong, I'm a firm believer in experience being the most effective teacher, but I imagine learning from someone that's already made the mistakes would shorten the learning curve. I'm no expert by any means, but I do want to master this craft to the best of my abilities. I have read some turkey hunting books that are recommended, as well.

If you would be interested in mentoring a MS kid that hunts public land only mainly on hilly Pine Plantations and Mixed Hardwood WMAs/National Forests, please send me a PM. By no means am I looking for anyone's honey hole. I have plenty of land near me. I do want to learn more and be a student of the game we all love so much.

silvestris

Get Kenny Morgan's "one Man Game".  I was honored to have him critique most of my hunts and I learned a lot.  He and I only hunted together on two occasions as he meant it when he called it a one man's game.  He felt it important for me to make my own mistakes and I did.  His explanations of what I was doing wrong was invaluable and didn't cost him any honeyholes unless he wanted to share some with me and I wouldn't go to one of his honeyholes without his blessing.
"[T]he changing environment will someday be totally and irrevocably unsuitable for the wild turkey.  Unless mankind precedes the birds in extinction, we probably will not be hunting turkeys for too much longer."  Ken Morgan, "Turkey Hunting, A One Man Game

MK M GOBL