OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Help a newbie find turkey land

Started by fx, April 25, 2019, 09:26:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fx

I'm a tech person, so I have onx maps and good ol' google maps. So far I've put in some 40+ miles of hiking in three general areas, where I figured I'd have _some_ chance of spotting a turkey.

I've cheated a little and even used birding maps to see where people have spotted turkeys to narrow it down, but alas, zero turkey.

Now this is SoCal, so chances are pretty low in general, or so I've been told. I've seen a hen or two walk across the street while driving around Lake Henshaw, but they weren't even close to public land.

My general strategy, with the limited time I have (only weekends, Saturday afternoon, all-day Sunday) was to find areas on the maps that I thought could yield turkey, drive there, hike around looking for sign, hopefully stumble upon a bird. I'm terrible at calls, being a newbie, and I don't like sitting around -- especially when I haven't the slightest whether there's even a bird within a hundred miles, because I have no idea what I'm doing.

I _think_ I've seen sign. So I'm pretty sure I saw some scat, likely saw tracks, but these were either literally in the mountains (I gained 1100ft of elevation that day, even just walking the dirt roads, nevermind trying to cut into the woods somewhere.. too steep, too rough) or near private land (where I then tried my terrible calling for a while, but never heard anything back, or saw anything.)

So here I am, finally asking for help.

Without someone just telling me their spot or paying for a guide -- how do I identify a piece of land that has potential, so I can narrow down where I spend my time?

What I've done so far is:

1. Looking for acorns, oaks. Figured where there's no acorns, there's no turkey.