OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Hello i am new to mouth calls but i am pretty good but want to make my onw  (Read 4493 times)

Offline Hunter109

Hi i am new to mouth calls i was wondering what is the best way to make my own mouth calls on a buget jw any help would be greatly appreciated

Offline compton30

• The Boss Gobbler
Welcome to the forum!

Without trying to be intrusive, what would you say your budget for this endeavor is? It's hard to give a solid answer without first knowing how much money you're looking to commit to this.

At the absolute bare minimum I would say you could get started for 29 bucks. 50 pieces of tape, 50 frames, 100 pieces of .004 and 100 pieces of .003 latex. This is assuming you have a few other items already on hand. ie, pliers, scissors, something to tack the latex together with. You'd be stretching them by "feel", which for me would be an impossibility, but it can be done to very high success.

Cheers,

Ben.

Offline Hunter109

I would say 50 to 100 to start

Offline GobbleNut

• Long Spur Gobbler
  • Southern New Mexico
As Ben (compton30) states, if you are willing to forego purchasing a press or jig, you can easily get enough assorted materials to make 100 calls for under $100.  As he stated, you don't have to have either a press or jig to make perfectly serviceable calls.  There is a bit of a learning curve for most people, but once you get the "hang of it", you can make call after call that you can take to the woods and kill gobblers with,...and quite honestly, you will most likely end up being better on a mouth call by making your own than you ever will be buying them from others.