turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Videotaping Turkey Hunts

Started by macobb, March 05, 2019, 09:32:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

macobb

I am looking to start video taping my turkey hunt when I can. I want a decent video camera around the $500 mark. I am just wanting to video just for my own enjoyment. I am looking for suggestions one cameras tripods and external mics. I am very new to this aspect. I definitely want something with decent stability and focus but want to attach an external mic for better audio quality. Any advice tips or recommendations are greatly appreciated.
Always wondering wether or not to give a cluck

MK M GOBL

So a camera at $500 or are you asking for complete setup at $500?

MK M GOBL

Jrkimbrough

I just bought a Canon Vixia HF R800 to video with this spring.  It was around $200.  Plan on also buying a fluid head and an external shotgun mic.  I'm a newbie when it comes to video but the above gear was highly recommended by other guys who video.

I'm gonna have about $325 in my complete setup. 

ssramage

Quote from: Jrkimbrough on March 06, 2019, 10:38:51 AM
I just bought a Canon Vixia HF R800 to video with this spring.  It was around $200.  Plan on also buying a fluid head and an external shotgun mic.  I'm a newbie when it comes to video but the above gear was highly recommended by other guys who video.

I'm gonna have about $325 in my complete setup.

I bought the same at Christmas. I probably have less than $500 in my total setup. I also have a couple GoPro Hero 4's for different angles and just got a Tactacam 4.0 for the barrel. Not sure all of it will be used but I have it just in case I decide I like filming.

SD_smith

I highly suggest a camera that is LANC compatible. I use a canon hf r800 and love it but really would be nice to be able to use a a varizoom remote

ssramage

Quote from: SD_smith on March 06, 2019, 02:33:27 PM