turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

In a N.Y. State of mind

Started by turkaholic, March 23, 2019, 07:35:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

turkaholic

I live and hunt in Connecticut but my heart is in NY. I have a camp near Cobleskill and hunt there as many days as I possibly can. What really stinks is the lack of time I get to scout. I've been hunting there for over 32 years so I know many roost spots. Things change, woods get thick and birds move around. Ten years ago I would bet anyone $100 that they would hear birds on this particular ridge line. For the last 6 or 8 years we have not seen any birds there. I believe it has a lot to do with density of the woods. They did some timber harvest 2 years ago and a few birds have been in there again. I am so looking forward to May and was wondering what you NY guys are seeing and hearing so far this spring? Last year was a bit better than the year before and there was a good hatch here in CT but not sure about the NY hatch.
live to hunt hunt to live

quavers59

Last Saturday, I heard over 20-- perhaps 25 in a certain area of Orange County. Very Cloudy and Windy this morning though--- so no Scouting today. Short Hike later is all. Alot of people are seeing Tons of Wild Turkeys along the Palasades Highway near Bear Mt. Where you can't hunt. Should be Awesome this May in New York!!!

mikejd

It was a snowy winter in NY I hope it did not hurt them to bad. One of my places had 4ft of snow on the ground 2 weeks ago. We will see. I dont live where I hunt so I am hoping for some decent reports from you guys myself.

tracker#1