OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: 20ga build  (Read 2061 times)

Offline Curtdawg88

20ga build
« on: February 16, 2019, 04:59:47 PM »
My first gun was a Remington 870 20ga youth model when I was 9. I used it for several years before inheriting my grandad’s Browning A5 12ga. The 20 has been used very little over the last 20 years. I’ve been threatening to turn it into a turkey gun for several years. Finally sucked it up and just placed an order today. Here’s what I’m waiting on

Carlson extended .575 choke
Federal TSS #9s
New magazine cap with sling stud and stock sling stud
The Claw sling

I’m undecided on a stock at the moment. From what I read, the shurshot is only good with optics and I’ll be shooting the bead. May end up replacing the wood stock and fore end with synthetic. I would love a pistol grip type but not sure what to get.

Stayed tuned for updates.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
"Life is tough, it's even tougher if you're stupid."

Offline DKenny

Re: 20ga build
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2019, 06:16:26 PM »
I am in the process of turning my son's youth 870 in to a turkey gun for him. I got the same choke as you, but ordered federal HW #7s in 2 3/4. Adding a bushnell TRS-25 to his and I may go shurshot,  depending if I can find one local. Good luck with yours.

Offline BBURN

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2019, 12:40:45 PM »