OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: How to draw on a turkey without spooking them?  (Read 7325 times)

Offline DavePwns

How to draw on a turkey without spooking them?
« on: March 23, 2018, 10:04:49 PM »
This is my first time hunting turkeys on public land with a bow, my question is what are some good options for drawing my bow on a strutting Tom without spooking it? (I don't want to bring a shelter blind)
Should I hide behind a tree and pop out when the turkey turns his back? Should i sit in front of a tree to break up my outline? Or should I just invest in a ground blind?

What tactics have been helpful for you to get seal the deal with your bow? Any insight is appreciated

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk

Offline CtRider

How to draw on a turkey without spooking them?
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 06:30:46 AM »
This is my first time hunting turkeys on public land with a bow, my question is what are some good options for drawing my bow on a strutting Tom without spooking it? (I don't want to bring a shelter blind)
Should I hide behind a tree and pop out when the turkey turns his back? Should i sit in front of a tree to break up my outline? Or should I just invest in a ground blind?

What tactics have been helpful for you to get seal the deal with your bow? Any insight is appreciated

I’ve had two types of experiences Hunting with a bow, mostly out of a ground blind which is the easiest wen it comes to concealment. Probably a pain by yourself but not too bad with a buddy. I killed my first archery tom at 11yds from a ground blind with a strutter decoy, upright hen and breeder