turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Questions to ask biologists when planning a trip

Started by Delmar ODonnell, February 27, 2019, 12:01:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Delmar ODonnell

Hello all, I'm relatively new to OldGobbler but I've really enjoyed reading and learning from fellow hunters.

I'm currently planning a trip to hunt the last three weeks of May and plan on hitting at least 3 different states. I plan on camping so I can be extremely mobile. I was thinking of hunting Kansas, Nebraska, and the Black Hills in South Dakota. With so much public land, I want to call biologists in the area and ask questions that will give me a general understanding of the turkey population, but also some information that might help give me a general starting point to hunt.

I am not exactly sure what all I need to ask that will help me. I know I should ask things like recent burns in the area, or water sources in dryer places out West, but what are some better questions I could ask that would help me have a general starting point on an area to hunt?

Bolandstrutters

I've found google earth and OnX to be way more useful than biologist. 

ddturkeyhunter