turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Wanting a better understanding of diaphram calls -

Started by redleg06, April 24, 2011, 09:43:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

redleg06

I was wanting to get a better understanding of how diaphragm calls are affected by the number of reeds 1,2,3,4 (or even half reeds) and  how the cuts in the calls (v, bat wing etc....) effect the sound as a general rule.

Ive been using diaphragms for about 8-10 years and have a handful that I really like but Ive always found them based on trial and error really (blowing them and either keeping or tossing them based on my preference of sound) and Id like to have a better general understanding of what makes a raspier call, a cleaner (less rasp) call etc....

Houndstooth Game Calls

V- cuts are always raspy but on the other hand with practice by manipulating air pressure and tounge pressure you can clear the yelp up to have a high front end dropping into rasp at end of yelp. Also you can clear the yelp up to not being so raspy by reed spacing other words the hangover of the top reed the shorter it is the clearer the yelp will be lots of little things also just depends on the caller. The less over hanging sharp edges on the top reed the clearer the call in some since.The bat wing calls  are a call of there on I can make a great 2 tone yelp with then the next fella its a straight rapy call just the caller. The number of reeds gives the call more back bone plus you have to generally run more but you can get louder on those calls. never messed with the half reed calls alot most of the time you see them on 2 reed calls I would think just adds a little backbone to the call for added air. Its easier to show the differences than 2 explain I am sure there is plenty of opinions on this.

Grasshopper