turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

First time in Montana help

Started by RKeeper1, April 16, 2018, 10:29:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RKeeper1

Going to Montana in about a month to catch the tail end of season. Got sent this picture from family where I'll be hunting. This is on the Yellowstone river which you can see behind them. It's pretty open ground from the looks of Google maps. There are trees around to set up by. My question is just from this picture there's the one mature Tom and a few hens. How should I hunt this bird? Decoy? If so a Jake decoy or hen? I think he'd come challenge a Jake over coming to a lone hen when he has a bunch of real hens already. Also, I don't know how he'll repond being later in the season. Any tips you guys can give me will be helpful. Hopefully i will be killing my first eastern here in Illinois in a few weeks and then going after this bird next month so I'm a novice for sure and could use any info you got!

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

High plains drifter

I know that place.Dont take the only gobbler.There is a better ranch to the south.

hobbes

Its unlikely that he's the only gobbler.  By the end of the season he will have bred every hen in that group multiple times and killing him will do nothing more than reduce population by one.  Another will soon after replace him.

He may still well be strutting with the hens at that time.  However, the breeding will have decreased so you may pull him away from them.  Ive occasionally  seen uninterested toms that late in the year, but I also saw a couple toms 200 miles apart strutting in mid-June last year.