turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Help with calling!!!

Started by Skinman, April 20, 2011, 09:32:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Skinman

Hey im fairly new to turkey hunting been doing it for 2 years now i generally call for myself or others i can always get the birds 60-70 but never in close enough for a shot, i do use decoys, am i calling to aggressive? i call about every 5 minutes.... thanks yall

Cut*N*Run

might be too aggressive. I know I am guilty of that most of the time.

Analyze the terrain too though. They can hang up on the dumbest things- rock walls, small streams etc.

WillowRidgeCalls

If you get a bird in within 50yds, when you run your call you should be just barely be able to hear it, on a calm day. soft purrs and clucks is all that's needed.
Wisconsin Turkey and Turkey Hunting Pro-Staff
Scott

Stoner

Willow Ridge Calls is exactly right. You need to sound like a natural hen. Many times I call the hens with soft clucks and purrs and the the gobblers are right with the hens. I have shot many turkeys doing what Willow Ridge recommended.

culpeper