OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Mossberg Tactical Turkey

Started by Fastcat, April 19, 2011, 10:04:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fastcat

Hey everybody I am a turkey hunting addict who kicked the habbit but I have had a major relapse this year.  I am also new to oldgobbler.com.  I just wanted to share a scary experience I had last week patterning a Mossberg 500 tactical turkey I won a few years ago at our NWTF banquet.  I have not shot this gun more than 5 times previously.

After patterning two major 3" turkey loads I chambered a 3" #5 Winchester HV.  The instant the shot broke I felt like I had been punched in the kisser.  When I regained my whits I realized the stock had folded under recoil and the already stout recoil was combined with the momentum of a 7 pound gun was really unpleasent!

Needless to say I was a little shaken and latter that day I came across a beauty of an old 835 sporting a 24 inch non-ported barrel and the old school first generation dipped camo. (maybe realtree? looks like treebark with a couple of green leaves in the for gound.)  Needless to say the cool tactical 500 went
down the road!  And a sims recoil pad and pure gold choke are on there way here for the retro Mossy!

Fastcat

Anyway if i had an 835 Tactical turkey I would be concerned.  Any thoughts?

chadabear

Ive had my 835 Tactical for 5 yrs. Ive shot everything from Win Supreme 3-1/2 to Nitro 4-5-7, 3-1/2. Ive only shot 2-1/2" to sight in a scope, but everything else has been the most powerful shells on the market. No problems. I have several people that own them also, including tbe 500 and none have had any problems.
1 Samuel 12:24
But be sure to fear the LORD and serve him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things he has done for you.

PANYHunter