OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Advice for beginning trumpet players  (Read 22593 times)

Offline Terry

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Paintbrush Beard
Advice for beginning trumpet players
« on: March 10, 2018, 11:11:50 AM »
There seems to be a lot of threads posted about what trumpet to buy for a beginner or talk about how to play one. Since I'm still a beginner myself, I thought I'd share my thoughts. This is my very humble opinion about it, keep in mind I'm relatively new to trumpets(3 years).

I've owned or own Cox, Buice, and Hornstra. And although all of them are very well built and play easily, there are several more affordable options that offer the same quality and playability. I'm not saying you can't buy a bad one, or that it's not important to get one that plays easily. I just don't think it's necessary for a new trumpet player to go with one of the big dollar names. You can spend $75 to $150 and get a great playing trumpet. The amount of effort you put into learning how to play and practice is what's gonna make the real difference.

However, if collectability or maintaining value are important, then knock yourself out with one of the more expensive calls, they are certainly worth it.

Another thing to keep in mind when looking for a good playing trumpet is that there is a lot of personal preference involved. Just because one maker is the best for someone, doesn't mean it's the best for everyone. Which brings me to my next opinion, I think when you're first starting out you should really stick to one trumpet until your at least proficient enough to call in live turkey with it. Then maybe try others.