turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Best way to scout a new property?

Started by dBmV, March 02, 2018, 11:26:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dBmV

Hi guys, just signed up but I've been lurking around the site to a couple of years. I'm fairly new to Turkey hunting but I've been deer hunting all my life. I've had good success with birds on my deer hunting land because I know the land and where the turkeys are all year. This year I've talked my way into access to a fairly large piece of property. I have never set foot on the place but have been intensely studying arial photos on the place. The photos show a good mixture of mature hardwoods and cut overs of various ages with several deer food plots scattered around the property.
I will only have a few days before the season opens to scout the property. What is the most effective way to scout it in the least amount of time with as little disturbance as possible. My plans right now are to walk the roads looking for tracks, glass the cut overs, and walk some of the food plots in the hardwoods. What else should I do to maximize my little bit of time?
In case it helps this property is in central Alabama.

Bowguy

If the property isn't huge and you can listen I'd be there first light and get an idea where they're gobbling. That'll tell you roost. From there w binoculars I'd be watching fields to see where they go.
I'd set up between them or where they wound up. I'm not really a field bird guy though.
That's no disturbance.
You'd still wanna know the terrain so you didn't set up wrong, example across a brook or river.

Sir-diealot