OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Roll over on a pot call

Started by Grouperdawg, January 19, 2018, 11:53:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grouperdawg

I've been turning calls for a couple years as a hobby,  I have come a long way through a lot of effort and experimentation

A lot of stuff I have figured out for my calls,  as far as my dimensions etc.  but I'm wondering what causes the roll over on a pot call

Any thoughts would be appreciated!!

TN-Hunter

Here's a few things to keep in mind. The sound board aids in the roll over in the call. Get it too far away from the surface and the call will be flat. Get it too close and it will be high pitch to screechy almost and not much roll over. Get some glue in between the sound board and the inside of the pot or the sound board and the call will be flat. If you want a loud call make your holes larger. Quiet call = less holes and/or smaller holes and/or no holes.
The deeper the pot the more hollow sound the call will produce. Thinner the pedestal the more rasp the call will produce if you did everything else right.