Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Thinking on getting a dsd leading hen

Started by Fl strutter, January 09, 2018, 12:27:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fl strutter

I'm leaning towards the leading hen over the upright hen and only wanting to get 1. Any thoughts or advise from those that have them? May one day get the jake but not sure if I would like the 3/4 strut better than a regular standing jake.

backwater

I only have the upright hen so I can't compare the two.  I have been using mine for four years and I really like how the turkeys respond to them.   Jmho

Fl strutter

I like just using a hen most times but I read where people have a lot of luck with the jake

MK M GOBL

So here is a bit with the DSD's

Upright Hen: by herself she is looking/relaxed not an "alert", dominant hens come to her as a challenge (hens will come to
                    her/fight and more) pairs up with Jake or Strutter plus you can short stake her for a "Breeding Hen"

Feeding Hen: by herself and gives the all is good pose, adds to upright hen pose. When with tom or jake she is just a hen doing
                    her own thing as male follows

Leading hen: she is made to work with other hens "she's the boss" I match her to a hen flock.

3/4 strut Jake: by himself or paired with hen puts the social structure in play "dominance". *I never have more than one Jake
                      out, reason being is issues with "jakes ganging up on toms"

Much more to all of this dependent on your area, hunt, time of season and more... how and when to set, when to use or not.

Hope this helps a bit, ask the question and I will see if I can help

MK M GOBL

MK M GOBL

Solo Jake sets work!

MK M GOBL

MK M GOBL

And Hen flock set (Leading, Upright and Feeding)

MK M GOBL

Fl strutter