turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Mouth call cases

Started by compton30, October 16, 2017, 10:23:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

compton30

So I'm about to send some buddies some calls and I kinda wanted to show some juice and send them in mouth call cases like you'd get if you were buying a call from a professional call maker, however, I might be being cheap but 30 cents a pop per plastic case has dissuaded me to an extent. Would I be alright just sending them in a baggie or should I suck it up and just drop the 15 bucks on a 50 bomb of them?

It's my first time giving out calls and I'm concerned enough just by the notion of giving away a call that I can't know is going to work well, let alone them getting damaged in the mail.

GobbleNut

Walmart (and probably others) sell small zip-lock bags in the crafts/sewing section that are perfect for individual calls.  They come in packs of 100 and are like a dollar or two for a pack.  Just the right size for a call and business card or call description.  ...Beats the heck out of paying 30 cents for those plastic containers. 

Lonehowl

Shipping in plastic bags is ok, and inexpensive, but I will tell you that if you plan on shipping a calls regular like, you should maybe look into a hard case of some kind. The reason is that even if you put them into a padded envelope of some kind, they can get bashed around in transit to the point that the call frames can be bent. I had several that way ( out of hundreds, so a tiny percentage) and couldnt figure out why the customer was contacting me saying the calls were flat sounding and had lost their stretch. I looked at everything like latex slippage in the frame etc., but then figured out that they were getting damaged in transit.

So, I switched to a hard case. I hate the tine square ones, although there is nothing wrong with them, I just prefer something different, even though it costs a little more.