OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Fall calling

Started by monty690, October 07, 2017, 06:51:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

monty690

I'm looking for some advise on fall calling. This is the first year that I get to turkey hunt in the fall and the season opens next weekend. What calls or sequence of calls are good for fall hunting?

Chris O

You should post this in the general forum and I bet you will get more replies. I am not a pro fall turkey hunter so I will let the other guys respond

donjuan

The kee kee run is a go to fall call. I like it best on Sadler McGraw's 2.5 Reed ghost cut diaphragm.  Also just soft clucks purrs and yelps to simulate soft flock talk can help.

If you can learn to gobbler Yelp and cluck, that can help with fall gobblers although they don't always come running to a call like they might in the spring.

Scouting and finding the birds is essential. They seem to change locations on me as food sources change from bugs in the grass to acorns to grainfields around here
Whoever said you can't kill em from the couch never was good enough to call a gobbler into the living room

CMBOSTC

"Scouting and finding the birds is essential"!!!

eggshell

Fall birds often have a pattern they follow, more or less. They will roost in one general area and move to  food sources about the same until they change because of weather dictated food availability. Find the birds and learn where they're going to feed and then worry about calling.