OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Turkey Gun?  (Read 5962 times)

Offline qbaker

Turkey Gun?
« on: August 10, 2017, 10:29:53 PM »
I'm new to turkey hunting. I've been trying to get out this year, but it looks like Spring-18 will be my first hunt.

Maverick 88 12g, 28"
https://www.dickssportinggoods.com/p/maverick-88-pump-action-shotgun-15mosamvrck881228shg/15mosamvrck881228shg

Q:
Is this a suitable gun for turkey hunting? Its the Mossberg 500 with a different trigger group safety (only difference).

Camouflage
Also the firearm is available in camouflage I believe. Is this required or best for Turkey hunting?

Offline falltoms

Re: Turkey Gun?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 08:14:23 AM »
Yes that gun would work, but with a 28" barrel its going to be heavy lugging around. Camouflage on a gun is NOT needed. I would get a matte finish on a barrel, but other than that don't worry. Mossburg makes some fine shotguns, I would look into there 500 series. You can buy one pretty reasonable

Offline daddyduke

• Double Beard
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2017, 02:58:45 PM »
Totally agree with falltoms post. Might want to consider 20 gauge. I started out with Remington 11-87 12 ga with 24 inch barrel and I got tired of lugging it around. Switched to Rem 870 20ga with 26" barrel for 2 seasons and loved it. Now have a 870 21" barrel. Still shooting lead 3" #5s.
Colossians 3:12 Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.

Offline The Cohutta Strutter

• The Boss Gobbler
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2017, 07:23:46 PM »