OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Crawling while hunting - Please Share Your Stories  (Read 3885 times)

Offline thunderbirder

Crawling while hunting - Please Share Your Stories
« on: April 09, 2017, 04:22:40 PM »
Hi all, Turkey hunting novice here.
I would really appreciate it if you could share your personal stories surrounding the moment it was necessary for you to crawl during your turkey hunt. I'm trying to get an idea of when it would be appropriate to do so.
Thanks, Al

Offline Tomfoolery

Re: Crawling while hunting - Please Share Your Stories
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2017, 07:03:47 PM »
Sid it once and got covered in ticks. I hate ticks

Offline Player

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2017, 07:32:26 PM »
Between the wet grass from dew, the ticks, the snakes, and arthritis I try not to crawl any more than I have to.

Offline kjnengr

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2017, 11:16:26 PM »
I'm not afraid to crawl but wouldn't do it at a place like Texas with rocks and prickly things everywhere.

My crawling story came from a time I was chasing a couple birds in a field. A buddy and I were set up in the tree line but could get the birds to completely commit. They hung up in a shallow draw in the middle of the field. We had to crawl to keep from being seen and repositioned about 100 yards from our original spot. We ended up pulling a double on those birds after a tough trip. It has created a long lasting memory for sure.

Offline thunderbirder

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2017, 11:48:38 PM »
Wow! I can really picture that. I could only imagine the adrenaline rush. Thanks for sharing!
Al

Offline TauntoHawk

• Paintbrush Beard
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2017, 08:14:21 AM »