OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Newbie just starting out in need of some help

Started by jbo225, March 11, 2017, 07:31:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbo225

Just like its stated im new to the turkey hunting scene when I was a kid I used to love playing with my dads old Quaker boy box call so I went out and bought me a Primos Box cutter last year and practiced on it listening to you tube videos and other things to get myself sounding semi good and ready for this spring gobbler. So with that being said I have no clue on a calling sequence, no clue how to call them in I know how to use a box call just don't know what calls to use. Any help would we much appreciated.

Bowguy

Welcome to OG. Gonna tell you something I tell everyone. Don't get your information from you tube. Some good guys some bad. Anyone can post and as a beginner you'll have no idea as to who is who.
Lovett Williams has some good CDs. You can hear turkey calls and sequence from live birds. The CDs are 10 bucks.
Dr Williams was a turkey biologist, he goes into reasons they call, how to mimic, when, etc.
there's no guarantees though.
You're best bet is to ask single questions as to what you want to know, such as if you hear a bird gobble close what do you try?
There are dif methods for starters  ,n others may have different advice, is to learn where you're birds are. From there be set up undetected before daylight. I use no light going in.
If you set up n have a bird close n he's on the ground a few yelps or clucks may get his attn. If he gobbles I'd allow him to gobble more than I called, kinda play coy-hard to get. When he's coming stop calling n let him look for you. If he hangs up wait a bit n a few soft purrs, clucks or leaf scratching like a feeding hen may get him to display closer. There's lots of scenarios n that's very basic.