OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Pattern pic  (Read 3122 times)

Offline rubachub

Pattern pic
« on: February 09, 2017, 04:08:44 PM »
I am new to turkey hunting and I am trying to find a good turkey load. I have a Remington 870, 24" barrel and using a Hevi 13 choke tube. I have patterned LB 3.5" #5 and Hevi shot magblend 3.5" with decent patterns. Today I shot some LB 3" #6 and Hevi 13 3" #7. I got decent results again but nothing like I see on the forums. Currently, I am shooting every pattern at 50 yards. The range is an indoor facility and the shortest distance, on the rifle range, is 50 yards. Can anyone guesstimate what these patterns would look like at 40 yards? I know its just a guess but.... I will pattern at different distances when the weather gets nicer.

ps. sorry about the side ways pics. My first time posting on this website. Great site to learn about turkey hunting.

in order from first to last.

Hevi Shot 13 3" #7 @ 50 yds
Win LB 3" #6 @ 50 yds

shots from 25 & 50 yds. (white paper)
3.5" magblend
3.5" #5 Win LB

BottomLand54

Re: Pattern pic
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 08:40:46 PM »
50 yards you have dead turkeys, good shooting. However look at your 25 yard patterns they look right and blowing some chunks out of paper. I say your birds are going to be dead. There is so many options as far as chokes go and store bought loads. I do not ever plan on shooting a turkey at 50 yards personally and every bird I have shot has been 20 and in, I like to talk to the birds and hear them talk back. I am a bow hunter I don't shoot at deer at 50 yards either I like to be as close as possible. Others will give you better advice I say your doing good now you just need some birds to shoot at!

Offline rubachub