OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Late season bird down!!!  (Read 2775 times)

Offline WNY Bowhunter

• The Boss Gobbler
Late season bird down!!!
« on: May 24, 2016, 03:45:29 PM »
Finally, after what has been my most frustrating season in years...I punched a tag!!!

Well, I saw this guy strutting around out in the field last night with 3 hens. I had been waching them out here nearly every day for going on two months now. Back on the 15th I hunted him for the first time (other than during the youth season) and had a 5.5 hour battle, which I nearly won, but it was too brushy to shot when he finally came in. This morning I set up in the groundblind again with the dekes behind me. He started gobbling at 5:15.  I let him carry on until he hit the ground, then I let out a few calls on the crystal which got one of his girlfriends fired up...with in turn got him fired up!  After a few minutes a hen came out to check out the dekes and he came out running.  As he came motoring down in 3/4 strut I immediately noticed his stubby beard...but didn't even hesitate on leveling him. Guess, he was a different bird than I had been watching.  He's not a record breaker by any means, but I am extremely thankful to take him this late in season.  One week left to knock down #2...or get my wife on a bird if I can get her out of bed in the morning!  :z-dizzy:

« Last Edit: May 24, 2016, 04:00:00 PM by WNY Bowhunter »
"I'm not from New Yawk.  I'm a REDNECK from Western New York!!!"
"It's not a passion. It's an OBSESSION."

Online davisd9

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Long Spur Gobbler
Late season bird down!!!
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2016, 04:56:06 PM »