OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: SS leopardwood  (Read 3857 times)

Offline Txag12

SS leopardwood
« on: April 08, 2016, 09:29:32 AM »
Received a SS leopard wood scratch box the other day, my first, and it's a beaut! Would love to become better at running it, I am comfortable with the cluck and purr, but for whatever reason I just can't get my yelps to sound right. Any tips for someone new to a scratcher? Thanks again for the great call Al. With some more practice I hope to have it be another addition to my regular Arsenal of calls!

Offline SteelerFan

• Double Beard
Re: SS leopardwood
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2016, 05:45:19 PM »
I'll offer advice as a rookie - since I'm new to the learning curve last year...

1st - watch these videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4AXfdAa3KY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljyarOK1l30

Biggest thing I learned - let the call do the work! Go light on the pressure in a smooth stroke. Then you can vary the angle slightly, the pressure slightly, and where you play the call. You can run it on center of box and center of striker, center of box an edge of striker, end of box and middle of stiker, etc. etc.

Keep trying different variations until you get the sound you are looking for, and then try to repeat it.

I'm sure there are many more tips from the advanced callers, but this is what I figured out early on. Good luck, have fun!

Offline Bowguy

• Limbhanger
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2016, 05:32:36 PM »
I bought a scratch box after watching Drenalin on here run one last year. It intrigued me. Talked to Al from SS. He assured me Itd be a go to call in the vest. My goal was to call one bird w it but since my time was limited I was hesitant.