OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Glass vs. Slate  (Read 9366 times)

Offline Swamp Rooster

Glass vs. Slate
« on: March 10, 2016, 12:06:53 AM »
Hello,
I am fairly new to turkey hunting and I am looking for some new calls. I have decided on a pot call, however I'm stuck between choosing slate or glass. Which generally sounds better? What are the pros and cons of both? Thanks!

Offline scoot12

• Longbeard
Re: Glass vs. Slate
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2016, 12:13:10 AM »
Slate is generally considered easier to play and has a more mellower sound usually.  The soft clucks and purrs are generally what sets a slate surfaced pot apart from other surfaces.  A glass call can do the same but usually can get louder and the yelps and cutts are sharper sounding.  Personally I feel a correctly conditioned glass call will run as easy as a slate call and will do everything a slate call will do but a little better.  Scoot

Offline Swamp Rooster

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2016, 08:00:36 AM »
Is sand paper ok to use on glass calls, somewhere around 100 grit?

Offline 870BkWht

• The Boss Gobbler
  • West Virginia
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2016, 08:14:49 AM »
Sandpaper will work and I'm sure lots of guys use it, but I prefer a conditioning stone or even a piece of drywall screen.  The drywall screen will allow the glass dust to not clog like sandpaper would.

Offline SS Calls

• 2023 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Double Beard
  • Southwest Virginia
    • SS Custom Calls
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2016, 08:16:59 AM »