turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

New to forum and turkey hunting

Started by diesel79, February 05, 2016, 09:37:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

diesel79

Hi all.   I'm new to turkeys and I got bit by the bug pretty hard lately.   I'm going to be hunting them with my bow, which from what I understand will be challenging.

I went all in with a pair of DSD decoys(jake and feeding hen) and a few calls.  So far I have an Albert Paul box, Lonnie Sneed Hot Hen and Outlaw Hen ordered yesterday and I am on the list for a Paul Platz double glass in Walnut and a Cherry Slate(won't have the Platz calls for about a year, also added a 1 pice purpleheart striker to this order).  I also bought a slate over glass in Yellow heart from Koble calls on the Archery Talk forum.

I am looking for a good all around one piece striker.  I am most intrigued by the Torman hollowed out one.  I've read dogwood is awesome with the hot hen.

I have also read great things about Dads diamondwood and monkeywood.  Also Lights Out diamondwood.

Am I on the right track?  Too many good choices and not enough money.  :)

Thanks for any input.

eddie234

First welcome! You'll get lots of answers, my favorite are ones made by Neal Herman, he's on here and makes the gobble stix for hooks. My favorite are his dymondwood and yellowheart

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

diesel79

Thanks!  This site is a wealth of knowledge, and a bank account drainer.  Lol

His yellow heart flare tip looks nice.

SS Calls

tomstopper

:welcomeOG: :wagon: Any of the ones mentioned will work but I am partial to my Lights Out dymondwood. 

Bowguy

Welcome to the site. Check out Harold Fowlers website for some great strikers reasonably priced. You mentioned a couple good builders already. Box calls check out SS or Halloran for very good calls you can get this year at a fair price.