OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Indiana Bird  (Read 3591 times)

Offline Hansonc

Indiana Bird
« on: May 13, 2015, 03:37:02 PM »
I wanted to share this story because although I was not the shooter I called this bird in for a friend, who has able to take his first ever turkey.

My friend and I hunted hard all day last sat. 5/9/15 and he has never killed a bird as mentioned above,  he had one great opportunity on a nice bird on opening day and missed. I felt compelled to get him another shot at redemption so he wouldn't be dwelling on the fact his first ever chance he whiffed. I by no means am a turkey assassin, I've only shot two birds in my lifetime, but everything I've learned hunting these awesome animals has been self taught, and the last two years I've gotten two birds and feel like I'm starting to understand the behaviors and read them. I love watching these birds come in on a dead sprint or hearing them run the woods to the sound of the call, I'm 28 yrs old and wish i would have started hunting turkeys much sooner in life. Fast forward back to saturday morning we got setup we had the gobbler pinned down from the night before left enough space to him approximately 150 yds, and he had absolutely zero interest in us as five plus hens put on a show for him to lure him away from us. We go back to lunch around noon, and my buddy has to mow the yard, and says he'll be back around 4, so I scouted out the south side of the property and killed time until he could be back out. We decided when he got back that we were going to split up one on the NE side of the property and the other on the SW side of the property. After going up to the NE side of the property for 2 hrs and not hearing a bird as the wind began to howl out of the NE around 6 p.m