turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Central Machinery Lathe?

Started by BABS9, April 30, 2015, 12:26:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BABS9

Well I have been looking/researching different lathes looking for something reliable to get started on turning my own strikers and pot calls. I have been looking at the Central Machinery 10x18 5 variable speed lathe which is in stock at my local harbor freight. Was wondering if this would be a good lathe to start out on and if anyone has any experience with it?
Thanks
Billy

Mabren2

Since no one has chimed in, I'll give you my opinion. I am new to lathes too, so you can keep that in mind. I did a lot of research when I recently bought my lathe, and I seriously considered this same machine. It seemed to get pretty good reviews, and about every thread I found with a discussion had several that said they used it with no problems, and a few that said they wouldn't touch it. When you look at lathes, I think you should consider other projects besides pot calls. I definitely needed a mini/midi machine because of room, but I knew I also wanted to try to make more than just pot calls.