turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Searching for some advice

Started by jmasgalas, April 16, 2015, 02:45:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmasgalas

I am relatively new to turkey hunting. I have been hunting for 6 years. I have killed a gobbler all but the first year and the last two years. For the past 2 years I have ran into the same issue.

I set up withing 60 or 70 yards of the bird. I hear them gobble on the roost. As it gets closer to daybreak I put out some soft yelps. They usually answer. I then stop calling. They usually keep gobbling on the roost. Once off the roost I will yelp. they will gobble once or twice on the ground then stop. I never do see them. This has happened on to different properties I hunt. Over and over again the last 2 seasons.

What am I doing wrong? One thing I did notice is all 3 birds I have killed I did not call to on the roost. So could my calling be getting them hung or spooked?

KYFrid

Do they all seem to go the same way or head the same direction? If so I would get to the direction they seem to be going to and set up. They are a lot easier to work with if your calling them to where they wanna go in the first place.

Mike Honcho

I would not call to them on the roost and give that a try....as you said the ones you killed you didn't call to on roost...and as the other response noted are they going the same way each time they fly down...maybe adjust your set up position...60-70 yds is pretty close although I've done it and closer if I knew area real well...maybe back off a bit. 

FL-Boss

don't call when they are on the roost. Set up 1 or 2 hens between you and gobbler... he will pitch down right to it..

Spitten and drummen

maybe henned up or heading to a strut zone. stay with them and they will make a mistake. if heading to a strut zone , find it , get there before daylight , call softly and scratch in leaves. pull him right to you and bust his beak.