OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Front end yelp / KEE help / high note in general

Started by super870JT, March 17, 2014, 08:46:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

super870JT

I'm one step away from being an above average turkey caller; but i cant establish a good high note or what some call a good front end yelp.   I can only kee kee on like ghost cuts or simple reeds, if i add in any type of V or bat wing all i get is rasp no matter how hard i blow or pressure the call with my tongue. 

any advice on what i may be doing wrong or some advice to help?  its really starting to drive me nuts, ive been calling turkeys for 10 years and kill and call in a lot of birds but i want to take it to the next level.

Jbird22

Not all calls will produce a clean Kee. I've found that a really raspy call is one that is all but impossible to get a clean kee out of. A ghost cut will but often times the yelp will be lacking. However, you ought to try a Lost Legacy 3 by Legacy Game Calls. It's the most well rounded Ghost cut type call I've ever ran.

But for me, the call that will do it all is the Hooks Executioner II. I get clean kee-kees, whines, two-note yelps with sufficient rasp, sharp cuts, and content clucks and purrs all out of the same call. Often times it's hard to find all of that in one call. A Houndstooth Dixie Combo is also a really good choice when it comes to a call that will produce a good two note yelp.

goblr77

Try running the ghost cut calls a little on the side. That will help add some rasp. The ghost cut Sadler McGraw sells now will produce a beautiful yelp run on the side like that.

Sadler McGraw

When I make a ghost cut call it is has a standard stretch and cut in the call.  The cut itself can be tweaked after the fact.