OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

how to tune a pot call

Started by harvester, March 14, 2011, 07:41:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

harvester

I have a pot call that sounds terrible. I have tried different strikers to get a desirable sound but nothing sounds real good on it. So...

How do you tune a pot call after it is assembled? Is that even possible? I'm new to this and thought that I would give it a try. For instance, the one I have in mind has a dull sound to it  and I would like to try and get a better sound out of it. What steps would need to be take to tune the call? Would you use sand paper and try and remove some wood or put it on lathe and reduce the amount of wood on the bottom of the pot. It has probably 1/4 of wood on the base.

Thanks.

Gobblerstopper

Putting the call back on the lathe would probably require removing the surface and soundboard to do it safely.  At that point, I would take notes of all the measurements on the pot and throw it in the firewood pile.

Turn another one and try something a little different.  Maybe a thinner bottom, wider pedistal, smaller lip for the surface to sit on, different glue, more space between the calling surface and soundboard (or less) or a taller pedistal (or shorter)  Change only one thing or so and see how it turns out.  Try to keep everything else as close to the same as possible.

What are the wood, calling surface, soundboard material and strikers that you tried?

harvester