OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Stoeger M3500 with Jellyhead and 3.5 Winchester Double X #6  (Read 13165 times)

Offline JuniorPre 360

Stoeger M3500 with Jellyhead and 3.5 Winchester Double X #6
« on: January 12, 2014, 10:25:23 PM »
I'm just starting out turkey hunting this year and am starting to get my gear together and gun patterned. I guess I could post a picture if necessary, but I thought I'd just post my results. Here is my setup:

Gun:
Stoeger M3500
Primos Jellyhead choke tube
Stock bead sight

Ammo:
Winchester Double X 3.5 inch #6 shot

I shot some primos turkey head targets at 20, 30, and 40 yards. My results at 20 yards were great and I didn't really think I would post results or count all of the holes.

At 30 yards, I got 69 holes in the turkey's head (not counting the beak) and neck and maybe a little more than double within the 10 inch orange circle on the target. I felt like this would definitely put a turkey down.

40 yards, I'm hoping to get a lot of input from you guys that are more experienced when it comes to shooting and patterning. I ended up taking 3 shots because I flinched before I shot. I got a good shot on a new target I felt comfortable with saying it would be the shot I would make during the hunt. I got 32 on the head (4 in the brain) and neck and 59 within the 10 inch circle. I was wondering what I should I be expecting at 40 yards.

Again, I was using #6 Double X 3.5 inch shells. If anyone thinks they have advice on a better shotgun shell that would pattern better, please let me know. I would appreciate it. Also, if you have any kind of explanation of how and why a different shell or size of shot would be better, that would be great. Thanks again!

Offline chatterbox

• Long Spur Gobbler