OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Beretta Xtrema Chokes in a SBE II????

Started by Nimrodmar10, March 04, 2011, 09:41:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nimrodmar10

I've got a Beretta Xtrema 3 1/2 Shotgun I've been shooting for several years on waterfowl. This past season I bought a Benelli SBE II for a backup gun. I bought a factory turkey choke for the Beretta a couple of years ago so that I could use it for turkey hunting. I also have a Patternmaster that I use in it which does very well for waterfowl. The first thing I did when I bought the SBE II was to buy a Patternmaster for it for the duck hunting. That afternoon I noticed that the two Patternmaster chokes would interchange in either gun. So I'm thinking "Good" I can swap all the chokes backs and forth. So I could use the Beretta turkey choke in the SBE II.

Well, when I was at the NWTF convention in Nashville I stopped and talked to the factory reps at the Benelli booth. I asked him if they had started making a factory turkey choke for the SBE II and he said that they had not. When I told him that was okay since I could use the one from my Beretta he said that I shouldn't use it because the barrels are different. I told him that the chokes seemed to be the same and would fit either gun he told me that the Benelli had the Cryo barrel and should not be used with the Beretta chokes.

Now I realize that he was working at the Benelli booth but does he know what he's talking about or not. Didn't the corporation that own Beretta buy Benelli? Why would the Cryo barrel be any different. I put the chokes in both barrels and looked in the barrel with a light. There didn't seem to be any difference in how the choke/barrel junction looked in either barrel so I'm assuming the inside diameters are the same.