OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Any advice?

Started by hwy419, March 19, 2012, 11:06:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hwy419

:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

I have been hunting gobblers for 4 years for more than half of the days in each season. Most mornings I get to choose which bird I want to set up on. Just this morning I had two birds: one at 100yds in front of me and one at 100yds behind me. A typical morning goes like this:

I get to my listening spot 30 mins before first light. I can hear usually more than one bird gobble as the sky starts to glow. I pick one to setup on, and try to anticipate his path from the roost (from days prior). Find a nice tree somewhere along that path, and call very softly, but loud enough so that I know he can hear me (whether he answers me directly or not), and then I shut up. He usually comes very close but never commits and makes himself seen. Sometimes he gobbles in one place at 60yrds for 20 minutes, then suddenly decides he wants to go the other way. When I can hear the gobbling fading into the distance, I try and call some more in hopes he'll come back, but it never happens. I honestly can't begin to tell you the number of times I have had birds at 60yrds and NOT ONE has come within sight.

What can I do to increase my commitment odds? Being a 4th year unsuccessful turkey hunter is rather embarassing (given the hours I have put into it) and I just don't know what to do. I have been on multiple paid/guided  hunts without any luck.

gatortrax35

samething happens to me bud. 2nd year hunter myself.  :help:

Tail Feathers

Try to get  closer to the roost if possible, before daylight.  He may be getting intercepted by hens on his way to you.
Have a good set-up.  Can you see him at 40 yards out?  He's not seeing you is he?  They have remarkable eyesight and spot movement from a long way.