OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Browning 10 Ga. Gold

Started by John Y, February 16, 2011, 09:31:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Y

I am new to Old Gobbler and really enjoy the devotionals but I have a question.  I just purchased a new Browning Gold NWTF 10 Ga. Auto and Rino .720 choke for it.  I also bought some Nitro H210 shells.  Does anyone have any experience with this combo, also what kind of pattern I can expect. 

paladin

As far as 10 gauge goes ..not a lot of info.
Most never go beyond 12 gauge 3.5"
Most that do shoot 10 shoot the pumps or singles.
Of those in the autos the SP 10 is more popular and I don't know why....maybe cost.
I get good patterns with my single in .720 and got a good pattern in my BPS with a cheap .690 hastings choke.
Nef picked the .720 as its facotory choke.
"have gun-will travel"

John Y

Thanks, I wanted something different and had read that the 10 should pattern better with the larger dia. bore.  have you found this to be true?

frank1969

john y  i shoot a sp10 with a bryner choke shot only lead but it patterns great at 40 with win xx mag #5

gobbler74

Quote from: John Y on February 16, 2011, 09:31:39 AM
I am new to Old Gobbler and really enjoy the devotionals but I have a question.  I just purchased a new Browning Gold NWTF 10 Ga. Auto and Rino .720 choke for it.  I also bought some Nitro H210 shells.  Does anyone have any experience with this combo, also what kind of pattern I can expect. 

Hold on to your hat because that gun is gonna smoke some turkeys..That combo you picked is smoking from the get go...We shoot the .685, .720 in Rhino and .690 in Pure Gold...All three are great performers in that gun..esp with those shells..did you go triplex on your load?
"Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail"

John Y