turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Trough calls

Started by Bwright8, April 28, 2023, 12:59:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bwright8

Hello guys I'm new and this is my first post, but what I was wondering and could not get enough, useful, or the right information on making a trough call. I am curious on how wood type affects sound is it better to do single pieces or glue two together, how the thickness of the wood on sides bottom and under the playing material affect the sound as well as how much open space in the middle you use. And how does putting a sound board in the middle affect the sound. I know this is a lot to ask I am just very new to this and I know it will take a lot of trial and error but just trying not to mess up a whole lot of wood quite yet. I have made one call and one box call the trough is black walnut with a brass strip and I ordered copper, aluminum, titanium, slate, and glass

mastevt

As in with making a pot call, box call, or any other kind of call, everything you do to it will effect the sound.  Even down to the selection of wood.  Every wood has its own acoustics, therefore, knowing and choosing a particular wood species is important.