OldGobbler

OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

What Roaring 20 are you using this year?

Started by cannonball, March 02, 2023, 06:18:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cannonball

I will be carrying a Mossberg 500 and it's my first year using a 20 gauge for Turkey. I've had this gun in my safe for years after buying it new and it's not even been fired yet. I'll put some pictures below that I just took but it's not going to look like that for long. I've ordered a few things that should be here by next week. It's getting a Choate pistol grip stock, Indian Creek .555 choke, picatinny rail mount and either a Vortex Spitfire prism scope or a Sightron reflex sight. I also have two sheets of vinyl wrap coming from Mossy Oak. I ordered Bottomland and Greenleaf since I couldn't decide which one would look better. I have a couple boxes of Verdict TSS #9's on the way as well. I'd like to know what my teammates will be using, pictures would be great if you have them and don't mind posting.

FullChoke

My shootin' iron started out life as a standard 20 gauge Remington 870 Express that I won at an NWTF banquet. After seeing patterning results that other folks were putting up, I decided to make her into a dedicated turkey gun. I raised the comb on the stock, gave her a custom 3D camo outfit, drilled, tapped and mounted a picatinny rail with a red dot sight and a handwoven shoulder strap on her. She has had her bore polished and is setup with a Remington Super Full choke and will be loaded fer bear with #9 TSS shells, handloaded by our own teammate 3seasons this year.

One shot and maybe one flop. That's the way the Roaring 20's do it.  :icon_thumright:

FullChoke

Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.

cannonball

That camo has to be effective. It's like the gun has it's own gillie suit.

Lone Star Eastern

Quote from: FullChoke on March 02, 2023, 06:50:31 PM