OG Gear Store
Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

registration is free , easy and welcomed !!!

Main Menu

Should I hunt the early season or late?

Started by Brillo, January 02, 2023, 10:50:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brillo

Here in Michigan we get one tag.  We have the choice, basically, of several two week periods from April 22 through May.
I plan to hunt public land.
As a new hunter might I learn more by choosing an earlier more active window or wait until later when the toms are searching for hens again and, theoretically, fewer hunters are in the woods?

Sir-diealot

I am no expert at all but I would never wait myself, once they hear a ton of calls they are going to start to dummy up and be harder to get. That is just my take on it. Oh and as well as less hunters there will be less birds.
Strength does not come from winning. Your struggles develop your strengths. When you go through hardships and decide not to surrender, that is strength. Arnold Schwarzenegger

John Koenig:
"It's better to live as your own man, than as a fool in someone else's dream."

Greg Massey

Go as soon as you can and spend as much time with them as you can.. Sir,  is right , why wait ... The season is only so long ....

GobbleNut

My standard response to the early or late question around here is, if you are hunting public land, go as early in the season as you can BUT avoid hunting the first couple of weekends if you have that option.  In public open seasons, a large percentage of turkey hunters, especially the casual ones, are going to be in the woods those first couple of weekends.  That usually ends up being a circus.