OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Trumpet Wood Type  (Read 1928 times)

Offline Cowboy

• The Boss Gobbler
Trumpet Wood Type
« on: June 14, 2022, 01:26:38 PM »
Im new to the trumpet world. What does everyone prefer for the wood type and why? Doesnt have to be in depth, just a comment or 2 on the type, look and sound. Curious on personal favorites. 

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

Offline ChesterCopperpot

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Double Beard
Re: Trumpet Wood Type
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2022, 02:01:02 PM »
Osage: classic, domestic wood and it darkens beautifully over time. Great sound.

African blackwood: turns beautifully, just a gorgeous wood, and super hard so it has a bright sound.

Lignum vitae: same as ABW in that it’s gorgeous and super hard so it plays sharp and bright.

Snakewood: also gorgeous and super hard like the other exotics mentioned. My only gripe is that it’s bad to split. Some folks will tell you it ain’t a matter of if snakewood will split but when. Regardless it makes gorgeous trumpets.

Anyhow, those are my favorite four.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Greg Massey

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Long Spur Gobbler
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2022, 02:11:10 PM »
Cocobolo also makes nice one ...

Offline Bedge7767

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • Longbeard
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2022, 03:24:21 PM »
I'm a Desert Ironwood fan.
Jim

Offline tal

• 2024 SITE SUPPORTER
  • The Boss Gobbler
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2022, 03:27:24 PM »
 Osage fan also. Don't discount synthetics, some materials have great tone.

Offline Yelper

• Longbeard
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2022, 03:42:44 PM »
Not wood but Delrin makes a great trumpet.

Delrin- sounds are crisp and the material is almost indestructible.

Offline nitro

• Longbeard