OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Merriam beard length  (Read 2230 times)

Offline Herschel34

Merriam beard length
« on: April 28, 2022, 09:02:48 AM »
Is beard length a consistent way to determine if the gobbler is a mature bird? I have limited experience with Merriam’s and seems like some have a full fan and short beard like a jake.

Offline PharmHunter

• 2023 SITE SUPPORTER
Re: Merriam beard length
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2022, 09:50:42 AM »
Absolutely not, especially with Merriams.  Look for a full fan and forget about the beard.  Half of them I've killed have had little spindly ones or even none at all.  Freezing off, other factors, and their environment in general doesn't lead to the vast majority of them having long, thick beards.  Some will but definitely not how you want to judge mature birds vs jakes.  Look for a full fan.

Offline GobbleNut

• Long Spur Gobbler
  • Southern New Mexico
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2022, 09:59:36 AM »
Ditto on what PharmHunter said...
The answer to your question is...no.  From my experience, Merriam's gobblers generally have less-well-developed beards than any of the other subspecies.  In addition, Merriam's jakes generally have barely-visible beards, if they are visible at all.  However, there are exceptions to that rule.  I once killed what turned out to be a jake that had a 9" beard!

Also, it is not unusual for a mature Merriam's gobbler to have a beard that would be comparable to that of a jake of another subspecies.  Bottom line is that beards on adult Merriam's gobblers can vary a bunch and rarely are an indicator of the age of the bird.  When evaluating one, the fan is the most reliable indicator in a hunting situation.

Offline harleytom

• The Boss Gobbler
    • Tinypic