turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

When they won’t gobble

Started by Bwhntr68, March 28, 2022, 08:22:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bwhntr68

So I'm a relatively new turkey hunter, self taught. Over the past 4 years I've either killed or called in for my buddies to kill 5 birds. I don't seem to have a problem with birds when they're gobbling but if they have lockjaw I wander around lost. This weekend I heard one gobble at first light and I couldn't get a location on him before he flew down. I walked around the rest of the day along the ridges, calling every couple hundred yards to see if I could get one to sound off. I know there's birds in the area because I heard multiple gobbles throughout the area preseason. I couldn't seem to even find scratching or much turkey sign at all in my walk though. How would any of y'all tackle a situation like that? What would you look for on a map to help narrow it down?

Mossyguy

If you know kinda close where he roosted that morning I'd go back in the area that evening, set up and call every 15 minutes or so. I've shot a few birds using this technique.

Paulmyr

What type of terrain/ habitat are you hunting?
Paul Myrdahl,  Goat trainee

"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them.". John Wayne, The Shootist.

Bwhntr68

This particular area is mostly hardwoods, with steep ridges leading into wide open bottoms. There's a few pine stands along the edges between public and private but for the most part it's open oak stands

Paulmyr

In my experience hens like to roost in pines if thier big enough to offer limbs they can dig thier toenails into.

In steep terrain like you describe they like to hang on the points of ridges and along the sides. I would think if there are turkeys around you'll find most of your sign/ scratchings in these areas.