OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: New to turkey hunting (MD)  (Read 2098 times)

Offline markelljones

New to turkey hunting (MD)
« on: March 27, 2022, 06:38:44 PM »
As the topic reads, I will be a first time turkey hunter come this April. I own a 12 gauge shotgun and am an alright shot (police, military). I'm familiar with the laws in the in Maryland and plan on hunting on public land (me and a friend of mine who is also a complete novice). I understand hunting with someone who has some experience under their belt would be better, but it isn't possible. I also understand that we're doomed to fail, haha. Could you guys offer any tips on gear selection and newcomer strategies? Anything, and I mean anything, is greatly appreciated. (We have a little over a month to prepare, if need be)

Offline Bowguy

• Limbhanger
Re: New to turkey hunting (MD)
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2022, 08:01:22 PM »
Welcome and sorry to hear of your troubles being police trained in shooting. Ah just kidding, kinda.  Honestly if you have a gun you can prob start without loads of trouble. You need to pattern the gun. Typically we’d say try all kinds of chokes, loads, types, etc but time is limited and ammo hard to come by. What type chokes do you have and what type ammo can you get? You might be best with sights but that may or may not be necessary dependent on the choke, load combo. I’d recommend copper plated lead to start. TSS is gonna be real expensive and perhaps you can’t get enough after all the things you’d need to do. Start so this is manageable
Also how do you plan on calling? I’d say easiest to learn relatively quickly might be a box call. Learning the when’s might be lots harder.