turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Complete novice to hunting in general

Started by markelljones, March 27, 2022, 07:05:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marc

I did grow up hunting, but not turkey hunting...  Self taught.  Here are some things to consider about turkey hunting:

Tight choke is preferred.  I use a full choke, lots of guys go tighter.

Small shot (i.e. #6 shot) is better for turkeys that larger shot...  You HAVE to make a head shot on a turkey for a solid kill.

Box call is the easiest/most simple call to make turkey sounds on.  Next is probably a pot call.  Mouth calls are more difficult and take considerably more practice, but are more versatile.  Start with a good box call.

If you think the bird is close enough...  It is NOT.  You will KNOW the bird is close enough when it is.

As far as camo, I believe color is more important that pattern.

Movement... DON't  If you can see the bird, they can see you twitch your finger.  Wait until the bird is behind an obstruction to move (as in moving the gun).

They hear as good as they see.  Turkey hunting is NOT a time to catch up on conversation.

You MUST shoot these birds in the head.  Hold point for most guns is at or just above where the neck meets the feathers.  Most misses are high.

#6 lead works fine.  Hevi-Shot is better...  TSS is better yet.  (I use Hevi-Shot, and it has not failed me).

Listen to some YouTube videos showing turkey sounds...  Many new hunters do not associate some of the sounds turkeys make, with turkeys...  (i.e. last year my daughter thought close drumming birds were frogs).

My theory on calling is to call as little as possible, but as much as I have to.  Most times less is more...  Sometimes more is better.  If you call too much that bird will expect (you) the hen to come to him...  I call more if there is another hen involved.