Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

News:

only use regular PayPal to provide purchase protection

Main Menu

Looking for some advise from some more experienced call makers.

Started by Swamp, May 26, 2021, 08:25:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Swamp

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to making pot calls and I have a few questions. I'm getting really good sounds with just about every surface but aluminum it's just always too hollow sounding and I haven't been able to figure it out. I'm using the same dimensions as I do for my other calls that have the sound I want however I I write all my dimensions down and made 1 small change to the one I have glued up right now. But If any one is willing to help out please send me a pm I'd like to talk to someone that may be able to help me. Thanks in advance.

outdoors

I had a discussion with a call maker about a call and he told me he uses different measurements
On the service he uses  ....
Sun Shine State { Osceola }
http://m.myfwc.com/media/4132227/turkeyhuntnoquota.jpg

noisy box call that seems to sound like a flock of juvenile hens pecking their way through a wheat field

Swamp

Yeah, I've also heard that mine are slightly different from glass to slate and ceramic but it's not by much I purposely made a rather large change is this one just to see what it would do.

mastevt

Sounds like you need to reduce the volume of your air chamber.  Think of your as a musical instrument.  A tuba has a lower sound, and a large air chamber.  A trumpet is higher pitched, and has a smaller air chamber. 

Swamp

BigSlam51

These are things you need to experiment with on your own, or you won't learn a whole lot. Make small changes at a time, and right them down.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Swamp