OG shop member gallery
OldGobbler
          bullet Forum Board      bullet Pushpin Turkey Call Blog      bullet Advertising Info     

OG Gear Store
PATCHES

Sum Toy
Dave Smith
Wood Haven
North Mountain Gear
North Mountain Gear
turkeys for tomorrow

Author Topic: Youth Frame Help  (Read 712 times)

Offline DKB

Youth Frame Help
« on: March 01, 2023, 08:59:44 PM »
Everyone - just looking for a little help.  I’ve been making my own calls with Thad’s auto stretch for a couple of years now (basically learned by stalking this forum lol).  I have a small palate and have to use youth frames.  I’ve been able to get some fairly good sounding calls, but only when the side tension is super low.  Like .05-.075. They do sound pretty good, but there is some room for improvement.  There is some rasp with some fair backbone, but I can’t get that hard rollover like some can. I’ve tried over and over to run calls with higher tension, but I just can’t get them to sound right. 

My question is this.  Do you all find that you need lower tension on smaller frames, or am I just doing something wrong?  I’ve tried varying back tension, and every cut with variances that I can, but just can’t get it where’d I’d like it. 

For the record, I’m okay with it if the youth frame itself is limiting me, I don’t plan on entering any calling comps or anything like that.  I just want to make sure I’m not missing something. 

Offline Jbird22

• Longbeard
Re: Youth Frame Help
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2023, 09:32:35 AM »
I run nothing but youth frames also. For me, my stretch starts somewhere around .25 but this is on a homemade hand jig. I'm not sure how that would translate to the jig/press you're using though.

Offline GobbleNut

• Long Spur Gobbler
  • Southern New Mexico
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2023, 09:34:14 AM »